NammaTrichy - Online News Portal about Trichy Tamilnadu

Forty-three nominations have been filed for Tiruchi constituency

சந்தா 1

AMMK candidate Sarubala Tondaiman and R. Anandaraja of MNM file papers

Twenty-one nominations were filed for Tiruchi Lok Sabha seat on Tuesday, the last day for filing papers for Parliamentary elections in the State.

Former Mayor Sarubala R. Tondaiman and Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (AMMK) candidate and R. Anandaraja of Makkal Needhi Maiyam (MNM) were among those who filed their nominations during the day. A majority of other candidates were independents.

Ms.Sarubala filed the nomination papers, minutes before the deadline, before Returning Officer S. Sivarasu, who is also District Election Officer.

Former Chief Whip of the Government R. Manoharan accompanied her.

As per the affidavit filed by her, Ms. Tondaiman, belonging to the princely state of Pudukottai, owned ₹2.48 crore of immovable property, while her husband Rajagopala Tondaiman owns ₹32 crore worth ofi mmovable assets. They had immovable property to the tune of ₹52 crore under the head of Hindu Undivided Family.

The value of movable assets with Ms. Tondaiman was ₹1.60 crore and with Mr. Tondaiman ₹1.99 crore. The value of movable assets under the HUF was estimated at ₹1.26 crore.

Forty-three nominations have been filed for Tiruchi constituency. Scrutiny of nominations will take place on Wednesday.


Fifteen nominations were filed for Chidambaram constituency on Tuesday. T. Ravi filed nomination papers before Returning Officer M. Vijayalakshmi on behalf of MNM. A. Elavarasan of AMMK was among the independent candidates, who filed nominations.

A total of 25 candidates have filed nominations for the constutuency.


A total of 49 candidates have filed nominations for the Karur constituency.

சந்தா 2

On the last day on Tuesday, 32 candidates filed papers before Returning Officer T. Anbalagan. While P.S.N. Thangavel of AMMK filed nomination as independent candidate, Hariharan presented papers as a nominee of MNM.

Deputy Speaker M. Thambi Durai of AIADMK and S. Jothimani of Congress filed nominations on Monday.


AMMK nominee for Perambalur Parliamentary seat M. Rajasekaran filed his nomination papers at Perambalur.

A former MLA, Mr. Rajasekaran was accompanied by his party functionaries when he came to file his papers at Perambalur Collectorate.

Twenty-seven other candidates also filed their papers on the last day before Returning Officer and Perambalur Collector V. Santha.


There are 14 candidates in fray in Nagapattinam Lok Sabha constituency and 19 in Mayiladuthurai constituency.


On Tuesday, M. Refayudeen of Makkal Needhi Maiyam filed his nomination for Mayiladuthurai constituency.

He declared movable assets worth ₹32,41,404 in his name and ₹18,65,000 worth of assets in the name of his spouse. He had immovable assets worth ₹35 lakh and liabilities amounting to ₹61 lakh.

There are 19 candidates in fray in the constituency including AIADMK, DMK, BSP, All India Jananayaka Makkal Kazhagam candidates and 14 independents.

In Nagapattinam constituency, MNM candidate Guruviah filed his nominations.

Of the 14 candidates in the constituency, seven are Independents.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.