NammaTrichy - Online News Portal about Trichy Tamilnadu

AIADMK candidate M. Thambi Durai and Congress nominee S. Jothimani whirlwind tour of Karur

சந்தா 1

With two main contenders — AIADMK candidate M. Thambi Durai and Congress nominee S. Jothimani — on whirlwind tour of Karur Parliamentary constituency, election fever is beginning to grip the textile town and neighbouring areas.

Both candidates filed their nominations on Monday and soon began attending party workers’ meetings in Karur, Krishnarayapuram, Aravakuruchi, Vedasandur, Manapparai and Pudukottai Assembly segments.

They have since embarked on an area-wise tour to canvas for votes. Since the constituency is spread across four districts, including Tiruchi and Pudukottai, they have to travel extensively to reach out to voters.

For Mr. Thambi Durai, who seeks re-election from the constituency, the topography, voters and issues are familiar. Accompanied by leaders of alliance parties such as BJP, PMK, DMDK and TMC, he seeks votes in the company of Ministers from his own party, M.R. Vijayabhaskar (Transport) and C. Vijaya Baskar (Health).

On Thursday, the Deputy Speaker canvassed for votes in Vedasandur constituency in Dindigul district.

சந்தா 2

Not surprisingly, his campaign invokes the legacy of former Chief Ministers, M.G. Ramachandran and Jayalalithaa to reach out to voters. His main claim is that the AIADMK will be in a better position to serve the people by being part of the next government at the Centre.

The constituency is familiar for Jothimani too.

Having fought the 2014 elections on the Congress ticket, albeit unsuccessfully, she uses the experience to chalk out her plan of action to get the people’s mandate.

Former Minister V. Senthil Balaji of DMK, formerly a AIADMK strongman in Karur district for about 15 years, offers much-needed support. She is scheduled to campaign in Pallapatti on Friday.

“We have been highlighting the failures of Thambi Durai among voters. We see anger against the ruling dispensations at the Centre and the State. We will accelerate our campaign in the coming days,” said N. Jayaprakash, election in-charge of the Congress for Karur constituency.

Untl now, the constituency is yet to see top leaders of the AIADMK, DMK or Congress. But Chief Minister Edappadi K. Palaniswami and DMK president M.K. Stalin are scheduled to visit soon.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.