NammaTrichy - Online News Portal about Trichy Tamilnadu

After 35 years, Congress wons Tiruchi and Karur constituency

சந்தா 1

The anti-Modi wave which swept the State has helped the Congress regain the Tiruchi and Karur seats, two constituencies which have been its traditional strong ground about two to three decades back.

While Tiruchi has returned a Congress MP after the 1991, a Congress candidate has been elected from Karur after 1984. The Congress had not won in Tiruchi after late L. Adaikalaraj’s winning streak for four consecutive terms from 1984. Adaikalaraj’s last victory in the constituency on a Congress ticket was in 1991. Though he won in 1996 too, it was on a Tamil Maanilla Congress ticket.

Since 2001, the AIADMK has won the seat thrice and the MDMK once. The DMK often prefers to allot the seat to its allies, especially the Congress, whenever the party was its alliance partner.

Keeping this in mind, former TNCC president Su.Thirunavukkarasar has been eyeing the seat ever since the DMK-Congress alliance was finalised. For, he hails from neighbouring Pudukottai district, parts of which are now in Tiruchi constituency. With Ramanathapuram being allotted to the IUML in the alliance, Mr. Thirunavukkarasar settled for Tiruchi and fancied his chances. True to the confidence that he had exuded right from the beginning, Mr.Thirunavukkarasar did not have to sweat much to achieve a rather easy victory with a stunning margin of over 4.50 lakh votes.

சந்தா 2

After 35 years

In Karur, a young S. Jothimani, hailing from a humble background, trounced senior AIADMK leader M. Thambi Durai, also by a huge margin of over 4.20 lakhs, to wrest what was once a Congress bastion from the Dravidian parties after a gap of three decades. The Congress had last won the seat in 1984, when the party candidate A.R. Murugaiah managed to win a second consecutive term from the constituency. In six elections between 1957 and 1984, the constituency had returned Congress candidates except once when the Swatantra Party candidate had won. K. Natrayan of the Tamil Maanila Congress won in 1996. Mr.Thambi Durai had first won here in 1989 and returned to win two successive terms in 2009 and 2014.

“I feel proud and happy to win the constituency for the Congress after 35 years. The electorate of the constituency has shown that candidates from humble background such as me can also win elections,” observed an elated Ms. Jothimani.

She asserted that she would work to fulfil the manifesto that she had released for the constituency and strive to address the problems, especially the severe drinking water scarcity.

(source : The Hindu)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.