NammaTrichy - Online News Portal about Trichy Tamilnadu

Rockfort City’s railway junction has received ISO 14001:2015 certification

சந்தா 1

After detailed auditing carried out at station Rockfort City’s railway junction has received ISO 14001:2015 certification — making it the first under Tiruchi division, for its compliance with an environmental management system.

The ISO certification, issued a few days ago by Chennai-based Quest Certification (Private) Limited after conducting detailed audits at the railway station, will be valid till July 2022, subject to successful completion of surveillance audits in the next two years.

It is the first step towards compliance with the National Green Tribunal’s order directing 36 railway stations across the country, including Tiruchi junction, to put in place an environment management system and obtain the ISO certification.

Consequent to the Tribunal’s order, Tiruchi divisional railway authorities embarked on the task of putting in place an action plan with respect to environment issues. They engaged a senior auditor of a certifying agency to carry out a preliminary audit initially and a detailed one subsequently for two days.

Suggestions were made by the auditor to make improvements in respect of environment management system to plug the gaps. Detailed documents were forwarded to the certifying agency after carrying out the suggestions, said a senior railway official.

சந்தா 2

Upon conducting the assessment and the audit, the certifying agency found that the station had conformed to all requirements in respect of station maintenance and other amenities; provision of public utilities; provision of services for train operation, handling of parcels, passenger ticket booking; and signal and telecommunication.

Following this, the agency issued the ISO certification to Tiruchi railway junction on July 10, said the official.

The National Green Tribunal has been intimiated about the ISO certification received by Tiruchi junction.

The next step of obtaining ISO 14001:2015 for six other stations — Thanjavur, Kumbakonam, Nagapattinam, Puducherry, Villupuram and Tiruvarur — falling under the division will be initiated under phase-II.

Separate audits for water and power conservation in accordance with the Tribunal order will be carried out by engaging competent agencies in the near future, the official added.

(source : The Hindu)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.